Research at NMDC member organisations

Looking at model boats at the British Museum © JD Hill Looking at model boats at the British Museum © JD Hill From archaeological excavations in China to work with survivors of Nazi persecution, and from symposia on performance art to seminars on conserving Old Masters, the holders of the UK's national collections and major regional museums perform a special role in leading and supporting research across the cultural sector. Our diverse collections are world-renowned and our research programmes similarly broad, enhancing existing knowledge of our subject matter and professional practice.

NMDC members welcome the opportunity to work with UK and international partners and are interested in discussing possible research projects and academic collaborations; please see contact details for individual organisations below.

Amgueddfa Cymru – National Museum of Wales
(Accredited with Independent Research Organisation status)
- Peter Wakelin, Director of Collections and Research: peter.wakelin@museumwales.ac.uk

Beamish
- Simon Woolley, Head of Learning and Skills: simonwoolley@beamish.org.uk

Birmingham Museums Trust
- Toby Watley, Director of Collections: toby.watley@birminghammuseums.org.uk

Bristol Museums, Galleries & Archives
- Ray Barnett, Head of Collections: ray.barnett@bristol.gov.uk

British Library
(Accredited with Independent Research Organisation status)
- Jude England, Head of Research Engagement: Jude.England@bl.uk

British Museum
(Accredited with Independent Research Organisation status)
- JD Hill, Head of Research: jhill@britishmuseum.org

Glasgow Museums
- Martin Bellamy, Research Manager: martin.bellamy@csglasgow.org 

Horniman Museum and Gardens
- Kirsten Walker, Director, Collections Management and Special Projects: kwalker@horniman.ac.uk

Imperial War Museums
(Accredited with Independent Research Organisation status)
- Suzanne Bardgett, Head of Research: SBardgett@iwm.org.uk 

Ironbridge Gorge Museum Trust
- Matt Thompson, Senior Curator: Matt.Thompson@ironbridge.org.uk

Leeds Museums and Galleries
- John Donegan, Partnerships Co-ordinator: john.donegan@leeds.gov.uk

Manchester Art Gallery
- Ruth Shrigley, Principal Curator: Collections Access: r.shrigley@manchester.gov.uk

Museum of London
- David Bowsher, Director of Research & Community: dbowsher@mola.org.uk

National Army Museum
- Alastair Massie, Head of Academic Access: amassie@nam.ac.uk

National Gallery
(Accredited with Independent Research Organisation status)
- Marika Spring, Head of Science/Head of Research: marika.spring@ng-london.org.uk

National Galleries Scotland
- Patricia Allerston, Deputy Director and Chief Curator, Scottish National Gallery: pallerston@nationalgalleries.org

National Library of Scotland
- Robin Smith, Head of Collections and Interpretation: r.smith@nls.uk

National Museum of the Royal Navy
- Duncan Redford, Head of Research: duncan.redford@nmrn.org.uk

National Museums Northern Ireland
- Sinead McCartan, Head of Collections Research and Interpretation: sinead.mccartan@nmni.com

National Museums Scotland
(Accredited with Independent Research Organisation status)
- Jane Carmichael, Director of Collections: J.Carmichael@nms.ac.uk

National Portrait Gallery
(Accredited with Independent Research Organisation status)
- Peter Funnell, 19th Century Curator and Head of Research Programmes: pfunnell@npg.org.uk  

Natural History Museum
(Accredited with Independent Research Organisation status)
- John Jackson, Science Policy Advisor: j.jackson@nhm.ac.uk

Norfolk Museums Service
- John Davies, Chief Curator: john.davies@norfolk.gov.uk

Oxford University Museums
- Professor Chris Howgego, Keeper, Heberden Coin Room, Ashmolean Museum: chris.howgego@ashmus.ox.ac.uk
- Dr Silke Ackermann, Director, Museum of the History of Science: silke.ackermann@mhs.ox.ac.uk
- Dr Sammy De Grave, Head of Research, Oxford University Museum of Natural History: sammy.degrave@oum.ox.ac.uk
- Michael O'Hanlon, Director, Pitt Rivers Museum: michael.ohanlon@prm.ox.ac.uk

Royal Air Force Museum
- Ross Mahoney, Aviation Historian: Ross.Mahoney@rafmuseum.org

Royal Albert Memorial Museum and Art Gallery
- Julien Parsons, Senior Collections Officer: julien.parsons@exeter.gov.uk

Royal Armouries
- Thom Richardson, Deputy Master: Thom.Richardson@armouries.org.uk

Royal Museums Greenwich
(Accredited with Independent Research Organisation status)
- Nigel Rigby, Head of Research: NRigby@rmg.co.uk

Royal Pavilion, Museums & Libraries
- Sarah Posey, Head of Collections, Interpretation and Learning: Sarah.Posey@brighton-hove.gov.uk

Science Museum Group
(Accredited with Independent Research Organisation status)
- Tim Boon, Head of Research & Public History: Tim.Boon@sciencemuseum.ac.uk

Tate
(Accredited with Independent Research Organisation status)
- Nigel Llewellyn, Head of Research: Nigel.Llewellyn@tate.org.uk

The National Archives
(Accredited with Independent Research Organisation status)
- Valerie Johnson, Head of Research: valerie.johnson@nationalarchives.gsi.gov.uk

Tullie House Museum and Art Gallery Trust
- Edwin Rutherford, Curator of Social History: Edwin.rutherford@tulliehouse.org

Tyne & Wear Archives & Museums
- Amy Barker, Acting Research Manager 2014-15: amy.barker@twmuseums.org.uk

University of Cambridge Museums
- Beverly Glover, Director, Cambridge University Botanic Garden: bjg26@cam.ac.uk
- Lucilla Burn, Keeper of Antiquities, Fitzwilliam Museum: lmb50@cam.ac.uk
- Jenny Powell, Senior Curator, Kettle’s Yard: jp659@cam.ac.uk
- Nick Thomas, Director, Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology: njt35@cam.ac.uk
- Robin Osborne, Director, Museum of Classical Archaeology: ro225@cam.ac.uk
- Paul Brakefield, Director, Museum of Zoology: pb499@cam.ac.uk
- Heather Lane, Director, The Polar Museum: hel20@cam.ac.uk
- Ken McNamara, Director, The Sedgwick Museum of Earth Sciences: kjm47@cam.ac.uk 
- Liba Taub, Director, Whipple Museum of the History of Science: lct1001@cam.ac.uk        

Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A)
(Accredited with Independent Research Organisation status)
- Bill Sherman, Head of Research: b.sherman@vam.ac.uk

Wallace Collection
- Andrea Gilbert, Librarian: library@wallacecollection.org

York Museums Trust
- Alison Bodley, Senior Curator, History and Archaeology: alison.bodley@ymt.org.uk
- Jenny Alexander, Senior Curator, Art and Science: jennifer.alexander@ymt.org.uk

Collaborative Doctoral Award students outside Imperial War Museum London © IWM Collaborative Doctoral Award students outside Imperial War Museum London © IWM